Gerard and Alice Ceunis at ‘Findagrave’

Last week I was contacted by Mike Gallagher who lives in Gosmore and had come across my research on Gerard Ceunis via a local website. Like me, Mike is a keen family historian and, in his words a ‘prolific user’ of the genealogical community website Findagrave, where you can search for the location of your ancestors’ burial. The website relies on individual researchers adding details of graves they have identified, which usually includes copies of inscriptions and photographs of tombstones.

Mike had noticed that there was no entry on Findagrave for either Gerard or Alice Ceunis, and at the same time had seen my photographs on this blog of their grave in the churchyard of St Ippolyts church. He asked whether he might use those photographs to create an entry on the website.

I was only too happy to oblige, and Mike has now created separate entries for Gerard and Alice, marking Gerard’s as belonging to a famous person. You can access the entry for Gerard here and for Alice here.

I’m grateful to Mike for making this information about Gerard and Alice more widely available and for helping to ensure that they are not forgotten.

Leave a comment